The Party Scientist's Lab
The Party Scientist's Personal Podcast (Private)
🎈I cried in front of 50 people + sharing circles
0:00
-31:23

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of The Party Scientist's Lab

🎈I cried in front of 50 people + sharing circles

⚠ This is the paid audio version of my Lab.

Join my
VIP Generosity Network to access this and my WhatsApp group.

Get 30 day free trial


I’m back from nature, connection catalyst!

This week, I emceed a street dance party, hosted an overnight camp-out, led a professional training for a university, and facilitated an appreciation circle at my friend’s birthday party… I cried.

LISTEN TO 👇🏽

  1. Lead a sharing circle.

  2. Lead an appreciation circle.

  3. Single people out respectfully.

  4. Use silence to bring people together.

  5. Use the disinhibition dance activity.


⚠ This is the public version of my Lab from last week.


KICKOFF QUOTE

“The best moments in our lives are not the passive, receptive, relaxing times… The best moments usually occur if a person’s body or mind is stretched to its limits in a voluntary effort to accomplish something difficult and worthwhile”

(Csikszentmihalyi, 1990).

IMPLEMENTATION

Every week, I want to introduce one new tool/practice/habit that I have applied in my life as a facilitator of human connection and vitality.

This week…

Check for impact. “What’s it like to hear that from me?” Especially, when I am sharing feedback or making a request or sharing gratitude. This is invitation for people to share their feelings with you and cultivate intimacy.

NEW POST

The Best Formula ☑️ For Mediocre Connections At Your Event!

Simply follow this 5 step process and an average experience is guaranteed!

Buy now!

1. Keep everyone in their comfort zone.
2. Minimize the amount of effort involved.
3. Sedate your guests with alcohol and sugar.
4. Encourage them to film and take photos of everything.
5. Don't do a closing ceremony.

Tada. Unfortunately, this isn't a joke. I see event leaders and culture execs do this all the time.

UNREHEARSED UPDATE

I’m really excited for a pride bike ride I am hosting this weekend. Typically, I am more excited about my public events than I am private events.

When I host public events, they attract people like me. The latter involves people who may be skeptical of my methods. I have to enroll them.

There’s a larger theme here, which my dad told me about yesterday.

Spend time with people who are into you.

Being with people who celebrate you is much more fun. This explains why I enjoy my festival clients more. The guests love me. They’re not judging me.

When I attended my first large corporate conference in Cancun, I felt judged. I felt like I had to prove myself.

When you feel like you have to prove yourself, it’s likely because the other person doesn’t see your worth. Move on.

Or… it’s because you’re not revealing your worth. Reveal yourself!

WHERE IS JACQUES?

Sober partying above a dance floor in Merritt BC.


If you’re serious about designing and leading community experiences for your team, company, friend group, conference… here's how I can help.

1 MY INNER CIRCLE & GENEROSITY NETWORK

Listen to my private podcast where I share real examples & tools from facilitating events across the world. Ask me 1-on-1 questions via my cell #!

Get 30 day free trial

2 JOY LAB—PROGRESSIVE LEADER MEMBERSHIP

Every week, I publish a 10-minute social health ritual that guides your group to a higher sense of belonging, psychological safety, and vitality!

Watch the video

3 HIRE ME FOR YOUR EVENT

From festivals to corporate offsites to weddings, my science of joy methodology unites and uplifts guests, creating lasting memories and mental health.

Event Experiences

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to The Party Scientist's Lab to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

The Party Scientist's Lab
The Party Scientist's Personal Podcast (Private)
Tools for building community and leading group experiences, with an emphasis on human connection.